7 continents

The seven-continent model is probably the most widely taught. There are however other ways of grouping countries into continents.

7 continents

List of the seven continents

Ranked by current population

World Population
1 Asia 4,753,079,726 31,033,131 153 59.08%
2 Africa 1,460,481,772 29,648,481 49 18.15%
3 Europe 740,433,713 22,134,710 33 9.20%
4 North America 604,182,517 21,330,000 28 7.51%
5 South America 439,719,009 17,461,112 25 5.47%
6 Australia/Oceania 46,004,866 8,486,460 5 0.57%
7 Antarctica 0 13,720,000 0 0.00%

Which continent does Russia belong to?

Russia is part of both Europe and Asia. In the 7 continent model in fact, it is not always clear where to place Russia. In the map pictured above Russia is divided into two parts (European Russia and the "Asian part" of the Russian Federation) along the Ural Mountains line, from the source of the Ural River down to the Greater Caucasus from the Caspian Sea to the Black Sea (following the modern definition of Europe as provided by the National Geographic Society). However, in the list of continents, we had to place Russia in one continent or the other, so we placed it in Europe, following the United Nations classification.

About 75% of the Russian population lives in the European continent. On the other hand, 75% of Russian territory is located in Asia.

Which continent does Hawaii belong to?

None. Hawaii is politically part of North America, but geographically it is not part of any continent.